top of page
Search

An Empath in a Homophobic world

Updated: Nov 28, 2020

So this poem here was unfortunately inspired by the ruthlessness that is humanity towards each other. Earlier on in the year, I heard about a brother from Makhanda that got attacked and nearly got murdered for being gay. Mind you this brother has been gay since I even knew of him, everyone knows I mean in my hood, we mind our business and whoever wants to do what it's on them. When we all converge whether kwa Mandisa or wherever, even eDurban lol we are all happy with each other, at least I'm happy with everyone. Anyway it was quite of a shock to me that this brother was experiencing this now when he's never experienced it (well not that I know of, I'm sure he's had quite a few of these). So when a couple of weeks later I heard the same story about a gay brother in Durban (the actual city now lmao) who actually got murdered I just couldn't take the pain of the responsibility that I felt. In my first year class, I had this thing of wanting to talk to my students especially on Mondays coz I know for a fact they don't want to be doing mathematics nge Bhabalaza lol so I'd rather talk to them and hear what they think about the things that are happening around our world. I called these "Controversial Mondays" lol. Anyway I thought it bonded me with the students because even I knew each and every of their faces and so even in their writing I could see their faces without even knowing their names nor student numbers. It was the craziest thing. Anyway we spoke about this Homophobic attack on this young brother and a couple of days later all that frustration that people felt, that I took on from them spilled onto this poem. I highlighted these other words lol coz I was practicing being smart in writing and leave clues lmao please let me know if I at least tried??? lmao I would put that monkey covering his face now if there were emojis on this thing lmao.


I am Mevs, same name that claims fame

became Dame and dashes in the fiery flames of this wicked rap game

I'll Drill your skull and expose your brain to sunshine and rain

oh wait, it’s an empty Hall of Lame, matter of shame

enough with the braggadocious acclaim

let’s get to the bottom of what we came here to disclaim.


A cyclorama of a young boy’s closet drama

as he silently screams out for his momma.

Shortness of breath, fear and sweat as he finds comfort in Gautama.

Flora, drama, coma

those were his majors, before becoming an alma matar

of the school of homophobia.

A beautiful boy wondering if his sexuality caused him karma

Bent down and drowned

in those everlasting words of a clown “Today you become a man”.

That day he became a man for sure,

a man who would break down all misconceptions of a queer optical crown

I’ll double down and call him the proper pronoun

Whaow now,

his hometown sees him holding his own now

living his flamboyant truth in his charismatic persona.

These are the chronicles of the unheard, the unseen

and quite frankly the unbothered young QUEEN.





28 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page